Josef Špaček and Miroslav Sekera | Festival Krumlov

The most beautiful duets of the 20th century for violin and piano

The best Czech violinists of the young generation will come from the world’s stages to charm Krumlov’s audience. Together with another exceptional Czech soloist, Miroslav Sekera, they will perform a repertoire made up of the gems of the 20th century, which has been composed for this ensemble. In addition to challenging compositions by Leoš Janáček, Igor Stravinsky, or Sergei Prokofiev, the audience will also hear Much Ado About Nothing by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, a Brno native, who conquered Hollywood with his film music in the middle of the last century.

Josef Špaček – violin
Miroslav Sekera – piano
Jiří Vejvoda – moderator

L. Janacek: Sonata for violin and piano
I. Stravinsky: Divertimento for violin and piano
E. W. Korngold: Much Ado About Nothing (suite for violin and piano)
S. Prokofjev: Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 in D Major, op. 94 bis

Program of the Krumlov Festival 2023 →

Program of the Festival zone 2023 →

  • Municipal Theatre
    Horní 2
    381 01 Český Krumlov
  • map
  • www

    Map Open map