Originally a Romanesque church from the second half of the 12th century, it is located in the middle of a cemetery on a hill south of the village of Boletice. It is a national cultural monument registered on 3 May 1958.

History and architecture

The church combines architectural elements from several historical periods. The tower and the nave’s outer walls date back to the Romanesque period, while the chancel and the sacristy with its impressive net vault were built during the High Gothic era. A northern entrance porch was added in the 16th century during the Renaissance.

Particularly noteworthy are the partially uncovered medieval wall paintings in the chancel and the sculpted corbels supporting the sacristy’s net vault.

Today

Today, the church is a prominent landmark in the surrounding landscape, where the original settlements disappeared after 1945 when the area became part of the Boletice Military Training Area. Since 2016, the church has been owned by the Municipality of Kájov.

The interior is normally closed to the public. However, the church serves as a venue for cultural and social events as well as wedding ceremonies. Visits are possible by prior arrangement with the Municipality of Kájov (tel. +420 380 731 237, e-mail: ou-kajov@ou-kajov.cz).

In July and August 2026, the church is open to the public every Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. A German- and Czech-speaking guide is available on site.

Map Open map