The Monastery Museum is set in the former convent of the Minorites and features a permanent exhibition on life and art in the monasteries of Český Krumlov.
The Gothic vaults of the Stations of the Cross provide space for a rare preserved cycle of lunette paintings dealing with the birth, life and death of St. Francis. 18 of the original 25 lunettes were preserved and restored. The paradise garden with an archway is overbuilt with the chapel of Our Lady of Einsiedeln, which was donated to the monasteries by Jan Kristian of Eggenberg and his wife in 1680. Although the chapel is much more recent than the monastery itself, it is built in the Gothic style.
Another gem is the Chapel of St. Wolfgang, where Gothic frescoes were miraculously discovered under layers of mould, fungi and plaster, progressing from the lower part through Baroque draperies to the Art Nouveau painted ceiling, depicting the life of St. Wolfgang.
The Church of Corpus Christi and Our Lady of Sorrows, displaying original altars and religious paintings, as well as frescoes originally hidden under layers of plaster, forms an important part of the exhibition. The Church of Corpus Christi and Our Lady of Sorrows is still used for religious purposes, with regular Roman Catholic and Greek Catholic masses.
The grounds of the former Minorite monastery are owned by the Order of the Knights of the Cross with Red Star.
In the monastery complex, in a section of the former convent of the Poor Clares, you will also find a space dedicated to children, the 3+ Gallery. It includes an exhibition area, interactive exhibition with a historical playground and craft workshops.